Marriott names Arne Sorenson’s successors

Tony Capuano steps up as CEO; Stephanie Linnartz made president

MARRIOTT INTERNATIONAL has named Anthony “Tony” Capuano as the group’s new chief executive and Stephanie Linnartz as president.

The company’s board of directors said the appointments follow the unexpected passing of Marriott president and CEO Arne Sorenson who died of pancreatic cancer on February 15.

Capuano was previously Marriott’s group president, global development, design and operations services while Linnartz moves up from group president, consumer operations, technology and emerging businesses.

“Tony has played a critical role in Marriott’s growth over the last decade,” said JW “Bill” Marriott, Jr, executive chairman and chairman of the board, Marriott International.  “He will be a terrific leader as we continue to advance our growth strategy while also navigating the market dynamics of the Covid-19 pandemic.

More… Marriott sees China hotel recovery in 2021

“He works thoughtfully and pragmatically with our owner and franchisee community and has been steadfast in ensuring Marriott delivers operational excellence and elevated customer experiences at our properties.

“Tony has a deep appreciation for Marriott’s thousands of associates who ultimately deliver on our customer and brand promise and I know he will be a superb steward of our culture. Together with Stephanie in the role of President, and the rest of our exceptional leadership team, Marriott could not be in better hands,” Marriott said.

Linnartz will oversee Marriott’s global development organisation, which is responsible for the strategic growth of the company’s 30 lodging brands, as well as the global design and operations services functions.

She will also spearhead the company’s progress on issues including the intersection of technology and hospitality, the continued growth of the Marriott Bonvoy loyalty platform, the brand portfolio and environmental sustainability.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>